Finishing My First Work Experience!

Me and my little sister Dearbhla, pictured just after my last day at work experience at her "Big School"

Yesterday, I was very saddened to have finished my first placement. I had been in this placement over the past 13 weeks, and was really sad to say goodbye and get ready to start on my second work placement.

Since September, I have been lucky enough to work in my past primary school – Scoil Naomh Pádraig in Drumfries. There are only about 60 – 70 students in the whole school, and therefore  I felt like I had grew to know them all well and had built up such a great working relationship with each and every one of them! I was even able to teach my little sister Dearbhla (pictured above), who had started “Big School” this year.

I was extremely lucky to be allowed to actually teach the children in the school music, as it is a major interest of mine. Every Wednesday I went to my work experience and from 10-11 I taught the middle classroom (1st, 2nd & 3rd classes), from 11:15-12 I taught the  infant classroom (Junior & Senior Infants), and from 1-2 I taught the senior classroom (4th, 5th & 6th classes). It has been one of the most insightful experiences that I have had so far in my TY, as it is amazing to see children who may have had very little music knowledge, comprehend and engage in lessons and activities, quickly develop music skills and understand theory!

On top of getting the chance to teach every single student in the school, I was also asked to help to arrange the school’s two annual Christmas plays. This year the senior students have been preparing for a play called ‘Cinderella Rockerfella’, which is essentially, a pantomime styled version of the play – Cinderella. The junior students have also been very busy practicing for their own adaptation of ‘The Nativity’. In this aspect of my work experience, I was asked to teach all of the students their songs, that they will sing in both plays, as well as coordinating students when there cues are to go on and off the stage. And if that wasn’t enough I was asked to create a backdrop for the plays!

Whenever I am not teaching music to the children, or wasn’t organizing a school play I was either working in the office or I am providing assistance in the classroom. These were both as enjoyable as teaching music. I believe that this placement was a unique opportunity as I have essentially done three placements at once – an office placement, a teaching placement and a placement that deals with music. It was safe to say that there was never a moment when I was bored on my first placement.

I would like to thank all the staff of the school for their continued support, constant dedication, accommodation and appreciation of the work I carried out throughout my thirteen weeks.

 

Leave a comment